Share This Post


Carl Edwards on pole at Indianapolis


Carl Edwards turned in a 183.464 mph/49.056-second lap in the second of two rounds of single-car qualifying at Indianapolis Motor Speedway on Saturday to claim the pole for Sunday’s running of the Crown Royal Presents the Jeff Kyle 400 at the Brickyard, a.k.a. the Brickyard 400. It’s his second pole of the season.

“This is really cool,” Edwards said. “Just to be here racing is cool.”

Edwards will be joined on the front row by Joey Logano.

“There’s only one spot better,” Logano said. “Looking forward to the race tomorrow. Clearn air is king.”

Early in round two, Toyota held the top-three provisional spots on the scoring pylon, with Edwards on top, following by Michael Waltrip Racing teammates David Ragan and Clint Bowyer below him in second and third.

In addition to being surpassed by Edwards and Logano, Tony Stewart surpassed Bowyer to wind up fourth in the final round and on the starting grid for the race on Sunday. As a result, he’ll share row two on the grid with Ragan.

Stewart’s 185.548 mph/48.505-second lap was the fastest lap of round one, leading a group of three Chevrolets to post the top-three laps times in the first round, followed by Kyle Larson and Jimmie Johnson. Eventual front-row starter, Logano, was fourth in round one.

Ryan Newman posted a qualifying time in round one, but because of a side-window issue, his time was disallowed. He got into the race, though, relying on owner points to take the 43rd and last spot on the grid.

Forty-six cars made qualifying attempts in the first round. The three drivers failing to make the race were Jeb Burton, Reed Sorenson and Josh Wise.

Here is the complete starting grid for the Brickyard 400:

Row 1 — Carl Edwards (No. 19 Toyota), Joey Logano (No. 22 Ford)
Row 2 — David Ragan (No. 55 Toyota), Tony Stewart (No. 14 Chevrolet)
Row 3 — Kyle Larson (No. 42 Chevrolet), Kevin Harvick (No. 4 Chevrolet)
Row 4 — Clint Bowyer (No. 15 Toyota), Dale Earnhardt Jr. (No. 88 Chevrolet)
Row 5 — Kyle Busch (No. 18 Toyota), Jamie McMurray (No. 1 Chevrolet)
Row 6 — Paul Meneard (No. 27 Chevrolet), Jimmie Johnson (No. 48 Chevrolet)
Row 7 — Martin Truex Jr. (No. 78 Chevrolet), Kurt Busch (No. 41 Chevrolet)
Row 8 — Danica Patrick (No. 10 Chevrolet), Casey Mears (No. 13 Chevrolet)
Row 9 — Denny Hamlin (No. 11 Toyota), Sam Hornish Jr. (No. 9 Ford)
Row 10 — Jeff Gordon (No. 24 Chevrolet), Greg Biffle (No. 16 Ford)
Row 11 — Justin Allgaier (No. 51 Chevrolet), Aric Almirola (No. 43 Ford)
Row 12 — Matt Kenseth (No. 20 Toyota), Landon Cassill (No. 40 Chevrolet)
Row 13 — Austin Dillon (No. 3 Chevrolet), A.J. Allmendinger (No. 47 Chevrolet)
Row 14 — Kasey Kahne (No. 5 Chevrolet), Chase Elliott (No. 25 Chevrolet)
Row 15 — Ricky Stenhouse (No. 17 Ford), Ryan Blaney (No. 21 Ford)
Row 16 — Brad Keselowski (No. 2 Ford), Michael McDowell (No. 95 Ford)
Row 17 — Trevor Bayne (No. 6 Ford), Michael Annett (No. 46 Chevrolet)
Row 18 — Alex Bowman (No. 7 Chevrolet), Brian Scott (No. 33 Chevrolet)
Row 19 — David Gilliland (No. 38 Ford), J.J. Yeley (No. 23 Toyota)
Row 20 — Brett Moffitt (No. 34 Ford), Matt DiBenedetto (No. 83 Toyota)
Row 21 — Cole Whitt (No. 35 Ford), Timmy Hill (No. 98 Ford)
Row 22 — Ryan Newman (No. 31 Chevrolet)

DNQ (did not qualify) — Josh Wise, Jeb Burton, Reed Sorenson

Follow Auto Racing Daily on Twitter @AutoRacingDaily or like Auto Racing Daily on Facebook ( Amanda’s also on Twitter @NASCARexaminer and has a fan/like page on Facebook: NASCAR Examiner

Share This Post

Posted by on July 25, 2015. Filed under Breaking News,Featured,NASCAR. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply