Share This Post


Eleventh Heaven: Who’s Next?

Ten is a ubiquitous number this week. There are 10 races left, and 10 different tracks. Up to this point, there have been 10 different winners – and 10 drivers who are thus virtually locked into the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup.

But there are way more than 10 drivers who want to make ‘11’ the number on everyone’s mind – as in ‘11th different driver to win in 2014.’

There are plenty of candidates. Last year during this upcoming 10-race stretch, there were five winners who have so far gone winless in 2014 – Matt Kenseth (twice, at Kentucky and Bristol), Brian Vickers (New Hampshire), Ryan Newman (Indianapolis) and Kasey Kahne (Pocono).

Any one of those talents could conceivable grab the win this Saturday night at Kentucky. We’ve already touched on Kenseth and Newman (page 1) and Vickers (about four inches above this sentence). Now, Kahne…

Though overshadowed thus far by fellow Hendrick Motorsports teammates Jimmie Johnson, Jeff Gordon and Dale Earnhardt Jr. (all of whom have combined to win six races), Kahne’s season hasn’t really been all that bad – especially lately.

Kahne finished fifth at Michigan and sixth at Sonoma to move up to 16th in points – and a spot out of the Chase bubble (Kurt Busch, currently 26th in points, would bump Kahne out thanks to his win at Martinsville).

Kahne is strong at Kentucky, finishing second there in 2012.

Share This Post

Posted by on June 26, 2014. Filed under Breaking News,NASCAR. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply