Share This Post


Hendrick Motorsports shakes up tire changer line-ups on No. 24 and No. 88 teams


NASCAR Sprint Cup Series front tire changer Nick Odell has signed on to join the No. 24 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet team of Jeff Gordon. He recently was released from Joe Gibbs Racing, where he was the front tire changer for Kyle Busch on the No. 18 Toyota team.

On the No. 24, Odell replaces Scott Brzozowski. With Odell now on the No. 24 team, Brzozowski moves over to Hendrick’s No. 88 Chevrolet team of Dale Earnhardt Jr to be the front tire changer. Brzozowski’s addition to the No. 88 team moves David Mayo back to a back-up role with HMS.

The change to Brzozowski to the No. 88 and returning Mayo to a back-up role is the second change to the No. 88 team since the start of the Chase for the Sprint Cup. The changes to the No. 24 and No. 48 take effect with Sunday’s AAA 400 at Dover (Del.) International Speedway.

The Dover race is the third race in the Chase, and is an elimination race. After Dover, the bottom four drivers in the points standings from among the 16 drivers in the Chase will be be eliminated from championship contention. Earnhardt enters the race on the bubble in 12th, the final transfer spot. He is one point ahead of 11th-place driver Jamie McMurray, but also only one point ahead of 13th and 14th-place drivers Kyle Busch and Paul Menard.

Gordon is 10th in spoints, 11 points ahead of bubble driver Earnhardt and 12 points ahead of 13th and 14th place.

Follow Auto Racing Daily on Twitter @AutoRacingDaily or like Auto Racing Daily on Facebook ( Amanda’s also on Twitter @NASCARexaminer and has a fan/like page on Facebook: NASCAR Examiner

Share This Post

Posted by on October 3, 2015. Filed under Breaking News,Featured,NASCAR. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply