Share This Post


IndyCar: Scott Dixon on pole at Watkins Glen


WATKINS GLEN, NY (September 3, 2016) –  Scott Dixon has had a love affair with Watkins Glen International ever since the four-time and reigning Verizon IndyCar Series champion set foot on the grounds in 2005. The driver of the No. 9 Target Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet reeled off three victories in a row, 2005, 2006 and 2007 at the 3.37-mile/11-turn road course in Watkins Glen, New York.


But, until today, the native of Aukland, New Zealand had not won a Verizon P1 Award at The Glen.  With a blistering lap of one minute, 22.5259 seconds/147.008 MPH, Dixon obliterated the previous IndyCar track record set in 2009 by 5.6 seconds/9.351 MPH to lead the all-Chevrolet Firestone Fast Six qualifying for Sunday’s Grand Prix at The Glen.


Will Power, No. 12 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet, qualified second with an effort of 1:22.5742/146.922 MPH.  Power, the 2014 Series’ champion, sits second in the standings with two races remaining on the 2016 schedule.


Four-time IndyCar champion Sebastien Bourdais, No. 11 Team  Hydroxycut KVSH Racing Chevrolet, was third fastest in the final qualifying order with a lap of 1:22.7844/146.549 MPH.


Helio Castroneves qualified the No. 3 Hitachi Team Penske Chevrolet in the fourth position followed by Tony Kanaan, No. 10 NTT Data Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet in the fifth starting position.


Making his first appearance in the Firestone Fast Six was rookie Max Chilton, No. 8 Gallagher Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet. He posted the sixth quickest time.


Points leader Simon Pagenaud missed the final round of qualifying for the first time this season and will start seventh behind the wheel of the No. 22 Hewlett Packard Enterprise Team Penske Chevrolet.   His teammate, Juan Pablo Montoya, No. 2 PPG Automotive Refinishes Chevrolet will start alongside in the eighth grid position.


Other Chevrolet starters are:  Josef Newgarden, No. 21 Fuzzy’s Ultra Premium Vodka Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet – 12th; Charlie Kimball, No. 83 Tresiba Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet – 14th and Spencer Pigot, No. 20 Samsung Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet – 21st.

Share This Post

Posted by on September 4, 2016. Filed under Breaking News,Featured. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply