Share This Post


IndyCar Series: Inside the Box Score – Firestone 600

Some numbers to note from the Firestone 600, the eighth race of the 2014 Verizon IndyCar Series season. 


1 – Driver to complete every lap of every race this season (929) – Will Power.


2 – Wins for Ed Carpenter Racing through the first eight races of 2014. The team won one race in its first two seasons in the series.


2.10 – Average running position of Will Power during the 248 laps of racing in Texas.


3.19 – Average running position of Ed Carpenter during the 248 laps of racing in Texas.


4 – Consecutive top-five starts for Ed Carpenter Racing between Ed Carpenter (Indianapolis and Texas) and Mike Conway (Detroit 1 and 2)…Positions gained by Will Power in the final 25 laps of the race (Sixth to Second).


7 – Top-10 finishes for Ryan Briscoe at Texas. Briscoe has only finished outside the top 10 once at Texas (12th as a rookie in 2005).


9 – Positions improved by Graham Rahal during the Firestone 600, the most positions gained in the race. 


10 – Consecutive top-10 finishes by Will Power dating to Houston-2 in 2013. Power is the only driver to finish in the top-10 in every race in 2014.


34 – Indy car pole positions for Will Power, passing Dario Franchitti for sixth all time.


42 – Laps that Carlos Huertas improved their position over the 248 laps of competition, most of any driver.


90 – Laps led by Ed Carpenter, most by any winning driver in 2014.


145 – Laps led by Will Power at Texas, most by any driver in 2014.


223 –   Consecutive Indy car starts for Tony Kanaan dating to the 2001 CART race in Portland. Kanaan extended his all-time record.

Share This Post

Posted by on June 10, 2014. Filed under Breaking News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply