Share This Post


Inside The Numbers – GoPro Grand Prix of Sonoma

Some numbers to note from the GoPro Grand Prix of Sonoma, the 15th race of the 2013 IZOD IndyCar Series season. 


3.32 – Average running position of Will Power during the 85 laps of racing.


5 – Consecutive top-five finishes by Dario Franchitti.


7 – Leaders during the GoPro Grand Prix of Sonoma, a race record. The previous record was five in 2005.


8 – Consecutive top-five starts by Will Power.


10 – Different winners in the 15 IZOD IndyCar Series in 2013. 


11 – Consecutive top-10 finishes for Helio Castroneves.


13 – Positions improved by Simona De Silvestro (22nd to ninth) in the race, the most gained by any drivers.


27 – Laps that JR Hildebrand improved his position over the 85 laps of competition, most of any driver.


153 – Consecutive Indy car starts for Scott Dixon dating to the 2004 race in Michigan. Dixon ranks seventh on the all-time list.


211 – Consecutive Indy car starts for Tony Kanaan dating to the 2001 CART race in Portland. Kanaan tied his team owner Jimmy Vasser’s record of 211 straight starts at Sonoma.


1,928 – Laps completed by Helio Castroneves. He is the only driver to complete every lap of every race.

Share This Post

Posted by on August 27, 2013. Filed under Breaking News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply