Share This Post


Inside The Numbers – Honda Grand Prix of St. Petersburg

Some numbers to note from the Honda Grand Prix of St. Petersburg, the season-opening event of the 2013 IZOD IndyCar Series season.

1 – IZOD IndyCar Series win for James Hinchcliffe.

2 – Previous Honda Grand Prix of St. Peterburg winners that have gone on to win the IZOD IndyCar Series championship: Dan Wheldon in 2005 and Dario Franchitti 2011…Wins at St. Petersburg by Andretti Autosport.

3 – Races won by Pro Mazda Championship point leaders Matthew Brabham and Cooper Tires USF2000 National Championship points leader Scott Hargrove in 2013 after both drivers

4 – Consecutive Firestone Indy Lights races won by Schmidt Peterson Motorsports at St. Petersburg after Jack Hawksworth won on March 23. The previous three St. Pete winners (J.K. Vernay, Josef Newgarden and Tristan Vautier) all went on to win the series title.

7 -Teams represented in the top 10 of the series point standings… Drivers who have won the season-opening race and also won the IZOD IndyCar Series title: Buzz Calkins (1996), Sam Hornish Jr. (2001 and 2002), Scott Dixon (2003 and 2008), Dan Wheldon (2005) and Dario Franchitti (2011).

8 –Drivers who have won their Firestone Indy Light debut, including St. Petersburg 100 race winner Hawksworth.

15 – Positions improved by Scott Dixon and E.J. Viso, the most positions gained by any driver. Dixon and Viso both finished in the top-10.

197 – Consecutive Indy car starts for Tony Kanaan dating to the 2001 CART race in Portland. Kanaan is second to Jimmy Vasser’s 211 straight starts.

Share This Post

Posted by on March 26, 2013. Filed under Breaking News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply