Share This Post


IZOD IndyCar Series: Honda Grand Prix of St Petersburg – Race Results

James Hinchcliffe grabbed his first career IZOD IndyCar Series victory today at the Grand Prix of St. Petersburg in St. Petersburg, Fla., driving the No. 27 Chevrolet for Andretti Autosport. Today marked the first win in 32 starts for the 2-year-old resident of Indianapolis, who hails from Toronto, Canada. Hinchcliffe started today’s race from the fourth position. “I don’t think you can get much better than winning the first one because as soon as I crossed the line I burst into tears, and I never thought that was going to happen when I won my first race,” said race winner Hinchcliffe. “But that was a hard battle in fighting off those Penske cars because they were strong and to get the Chevrolet to victory lane and the first win in IndyCar is just so special. Everybody at Go Daddy is so incredible and everybody did such a good job. I am exhausted, but just elated at the same time.”

This is the 44th IZOD IndyCar Series victory for Andretti Autosport and the first team victory of the 2013 season. Go Daddy CEO Blake Irving comments on Hinchcliffe’s first IZOD IndyCar Series win. “Hinch and the Go Daddy team were spectacular today. There’s nothing like that first win. It’s inspirational because it goes to show how important it is to have big goals and never give up. Hinch represents Go Daddy and all of our customers who believe in pushing to make their dreams come true.”

Results Sunday of the Honda Grand Prix of St Petersburg IZOD IndyCar Series event on the 1.8-mile St Petersburg Street Circuit, with order of finish, starting position in parentheses, driver, chassis-engine, laps completed and reason out (if any):

1. (4) James Hinchcliffe, Dallara-Chevrolet, 110, Running
2. (5) Helio Castroneves, Dallara-Chevrolet, 110, Running
3. (7) Marco Andretti, Dallara-Chevrolet, 110, Running
4. (11) Tony Kanaan, Dallara-Chevrolet, 110, Running
5. (20) Scott Dixon, Dallara-Honda, 110, Running
6. (3) Simona de Silvestro, Dallara-Chevrolet, 110, Running
7. (22) EJ Viso, Dallara-Chevrolet, 110, Running
8. (2) Takuma Sato, Dallara-Honda, 110, Running
9. (13) Justin Wilson, Dallara-Honda, 110, Running
10. (17) Alex Tagliani, Dallara-Honda, 110, Running
11. (21) Sebastien Bourdais, Dallara-Chevrolet, 110, Running
12. (14) Charlie Kimball, Dallara-Honda, 110, Running
13. (15) Graham Rahal, Dallara-Honda, 110, Running
14. (23) Ed Carpenter, Dallara-Chevrolet, 110, Running
15. (18) James Jakes, Dallara-Honda, 110, Running
16. (1) Will Power, Dallara-Chevrolet, 107, Running
17. (12) Oriol Servia, Dallara-Chevrolet, 104, Running
18. (8) Ryan Hunter-Reay, Dallara-Chevrolet, 79, Mechanical
19. (24) JR Hildebrand, Dallara-Chevrolet, 78, Contact
20. (9) Sebastian Saavedra, Dallara-Chevrolet, 72, Contact                                                                                                                                               
21. (6) Tristan Vautier, Dallara-Honda, 69, Mechanical
22. (25) Ana Beatriz, Dallara-Honda, 55, Mechanical
23. (16) Josef Newgarden, Dallara-Honda, 50, Mechanical
24. (19) Simon Pagenaud, Dallara-Honda, 26, Mechanical                                                                                
25. (10) Dario Franchitti, Dallara-Honda, 18, Contact
Race Statistics
Winners average speed:   83.539
Time of Race: 02:22:12.5502
Margin of victory: 1.0982
Cautions: 4 for 29 laps
Lead changes: 4 among 4 drivers
Lap Leaders:
Power 1 – 26
Castroneves 27 – 45
Servia 46 – 61
Castroneves 62 – 84
Hinchcliffe 85 – 110
Point Standings: Hinchcliffe 51, Castroneves 43, Andretti 35, Kanaan 32, Dixon 30, de Silvestro 28, Viso 26, Sato, 24, Wilson 22, Tagliani 20

Share This Post

Posted by on March 25, 2013. Filed under Breaking News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply