Share This Post


IZOD IndyCar Series: Inside The Box Score: Firestone 550

Some numbers to note from the Firestone 550, the eighth race of the 2013 IZOD IndyCar Series season.

1 -Win for Team Penske through the first eight races of 2013. The team won four of its six races in 2012 at this point last season.

2 – Points separating fourth-place Tony Kanaan (195) and seventh-place Scott Dixon (193) in the IZOD IndyCar Series standings.

2.15 – Average running position of Helio Castroneves during the 228 laps of racing in Texas.

5 – Consecutive top-five starts for E.J. Viso.

10 – Positions improved by Tony Kanaan, Takuma Sato and Simon Pagenaud during the Firestone 550, the most positions gained in the race.

14- Seasons of Indy car competition that Helio Castroneves has won at least one race.

22 – Points separating Helio Castroneves and Marco Andretti in the IZOD IndyCar Series point standing after Castroneves’ win in Texas.

31 – Indy car pole positions for Will Power, tying Dario Franchitti and Sebastien Bourdais for seventh all time.

40 – Laps that Tony Kanaan and Josef Newgarden improved their position over the 228 laps of competition, most of any driver.

132 – Laps led by Helio Castroneves, most by any driver in 2013.

146 – Consecutive Indy car starts for Scott Dixon dating to the 2004 race in Michigan. Dixon passed Bobby Rahal and Michael Andretti for seventh at Texas.

204 – Consecutive Indy car starts for Tony Kanaan dating to the 2001 CART race in Portland. Kanaan is second to Jimmy Vasser’s 211 straight starts.

Share This Post

Posted by on June 11, 2013. Filed under Breaking News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply