Share This Post


IZOD IndyCar Series: MAVTV 500 at Auto Club Speedway – Race Line-Up

Team Penske swept the front row in qualifications for the IZOD IndyCar Series championship-deciding MAVTV 500 on Oct. 19 at Auto Club Speedway.

Will Power recorded a two-lap average of 220.775 mph (session-high 221.057 mph on Lap 1) on the 2-mile D-shaped oval to claim his third Verizon P1 Award of the season and 32nd pole of his career to tie Michael Andretti for seventh on the all-time list.

Helio Castroneves, a three-time Indianapolis 500 winner who enters the race 25 points behind championship front-runner Scott Dixon, posted a two-lap average speed of 219.677 mph to place second and AJ Allmendinger (218.894 mph) was third.

Power’s pole took away the bonus point from Castroneves.

“It’s hard to predict the lap you’re going to do anyway, but obviously would have been nice for Helio to get the point,” Power said. “He needs to lead the most laps and I’ll just do whatever I can to help him out. I want to have a good race, and if that means just sitting behind him all day, that’s fine. It’s about the team. Scott didn’t (get the bonus point), so it still kind of keeps it alive.”

Dixon posted a two-lap average of 217.979 mph to qualify seventh. The final race of the season on a superspeedway will feature a three-wide start.

Both Dixon (Honda) and Castroneves (Chevrolet) will receive a 10 grid spot penalty for an unapproved engine change for the 250-lap race.


Qualifying Friday for the MAVTV 500 IZOD IndyCar Series  event on the 2-mile Auto Club Speedway, with qualifying position, car number in parentheses, driver, chassis-engine, and two-lap qualifying average:



1. (12) Will Power, Dallara-Chevy, 220.775

2. (3) Helio Castroneves, Dallara-Chevy, 219.677

3. (2) AJ Allmendinger, Dallara-Chevy, 218.894

4. (7) Sebastien Bourdais, Dallara-Chevy, 218.513

5. (83) Charlie Kimball, Dallara-Honda, 217.986

6. (16) James Jakes, Dallara-Honda, 217.979

7. (9) Scott Dixon, Dallara-Honda, 217.979

8. (25) Marco Andretti, Dallara-Chevy, 217.958

9. (20) Ed Carpenter, Dallara-Chevy, 217.932

10. (67) Josef Newgarden, Dallara-Honda, 217.871

11. (27) James Hinchcliffe, Dallara-Chevy, 217.798

12. (11) Tony Kanaan, Dallara-Chevy, 217.566

13. (10) Alex Tagliani, Dallara-Honda, 217.419

14. (5) Carlos Munoz, Dallara-Chevy, 217.050

15. (1) Ryan Hunter-Reay, Dallara-Chevy, 216.898

16. (77) Simon Pagenaud, Dallara-Honda, 216.447

17. (4) Oriol Servia, Dallara-Chevy, 216.213

18. (15) Graham Rahal, Dallara-Honda, 216.106

19. (98) JR Hildebrand, Dallara-Honda, 215.967

20. (55) Tristan Vautier, Dallara-Honda, 215.207

21. (78) Simona De Silvestro, Dallara-Chevy, 214.679

22. (6) Sebastian Saavedra, Dallara-Chevy, 213.262

23. (19) Justin Wilson, Dallara-Honda, no speed

24. (18) Pippa Mann, Dallara-Honda, no speed

25. (14) Takuma Sato, Dallara-Honda, no speed

Share This Post

Posted by on October 19, 2013. Filed under Breaking News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply