Share This Post


IZOD IndyCar Series: Milwaukee IndyFest – Qualifying Results

Marco Andretti is halfway to securing the best Father’s Day present for his dad, who happens to be the team owner.

Marco Andretti, who trails Helio Castroneves in the championship standings, earned the Verizon P1 Award for the Milwaukee IndyFest June 15, trimming the Brazilian’s points lead by one point. Driving the No. 25 RC Cola car, he buried the racetrack two-lap qualifying record set in 2012 by Dario Franchitti (168.737 mph average) with an average speed of 170.515 mph.

“So far, that was about as good as we could run, so I’m pleased,” said Andretti, who earned his first pole in the series at Milwaukee in 2008. “I think the RC Cola car will be tough to beat. A win would be huge. I told Dad that hopefully (the pole) is only half of his Father’s Day gift.”

Michael Andretti earned five Indy car victories as a driver and has four as a team owner at The Milwaukee Mile. Andretti Sports Marketing, an arm of Andretti Autosport, is the promoter of the event this weekend.

“Don’t tell Marco, but the outside is way better on the start,” Hinchcliffe said. “That is what I was going for.”

Defending race winner Ryan Hunter-Reay (170.100) and E.J. Viso (169.828) — the other two Andretti Autosport drivers — qualified fourth and fifth, respectively. Will Power broke up the Andretti Autosport roll by qualifying third (170.212) in the No. 12 Verizon Team Penske car.

Qualifying Friday for the Milwaukee IndyFest IZOD IndyCar Series event on the 1.015-mile Milwaukee Mile, with qualifying position, car number in parentheses, driver, chassis-engine, and speed:

1. (25) Marco Andretti, Dallara-Chevy, 170.515

2. (27) James Hinchcliffe, Dallara-Chevy, 170.418

3. (12) Will Power, Dallara-Chevy, 170.212

4. (1) Ryan Hunter-Reay, Dallara-Chevy, 170.100

5. (5) EJ Viso, Dallara-Chevy, 169.828

6. (6) Sebastian Saavedra, Dallara-Chevy, 169.732

7. (11) Tony Kanaan, Dallara-Chevy, 169.482

8. (67) Josef Newgarden, Dallara-Honda, 169.462

9. (77) Simon Pagenaud, Dallara-Honda, 169.311

10. (55) Tristan Vautier, Dallara-Honda, 169.215

11. (9) Scott Dixon, Dallara-Honda, 168.820

12. (16) James Jakes, Dallara-Honda, 168.470

13. (19) Justin Wilson, Dallara-Honda, 168.412

14. (7) Sebastien Bourdais, Dallara-Chevy, 168.141

15. (14) Takuma Sato, Dallara-Honda, 168.023

16. (98) Alex Tagliani, Dallara-Honda, 167.512

17. (10) Dario Franchitti, Dallara-Honda, 167.263

18. (3) Helio Castroneves, Dallara-Chevy, 167.169

19. (4) Ryan Briscoe, Dallara-Chevy, 165.765

20. (18) Ana Beatriz, Dallara-Honda, 165.364

21. (20) Ed Carpenter, Dallara-Chevy, 164.797

22. (83) Charlie Kimball, Dallara-Honda, 164.124

23. (15) Graham Rahal, Dallara-Honda, 163.230

24. (78) Simona De Silvestro, Dallara-Chevy, 162.886

Share This Post

Posted by on June 15, 2013. Filed under Breaking News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply