Share This Post


Joey Logano begins Chase Eliminator Round with Martinsville pole

Joey Logano celebrates a Martinsville Speedway pole on Oct. 30, 2015 (photo courtesy of Getty Images for NASCAR).

Joey Logano celebrates a Martinsville Speedway pole on Oct. 30, 2015 (photo courtesy of Getty Images for NASCAR).


Joey Logano led the remaining eight NASCAR Chase for the Sprint Cup drivers, and everyone else for that matter, in qualifying at Martinsville (Va.) Speedway on Friday for Sunday’s Goody’s Headache Relief Shot 500. He claimed the pole for the first race of the Eliminator Round of the Chase with a 19.215-second/98.548 mph during the final round of qualifying at Martinsville. It’s his sixth pole of the season and 14th of his career. Sunday’s pole start will be Logano’s second at Martinsville.

“It’s an amazing run we’re on right now,” Logano, the winner of all three races in the second round of the Chase, said. “This Shell/Pennzoil team is unbelievable. I’m just the lucky guy that gets to drive this thing right now. It’s so much fun. We’re doing everything right, but all of that can end in a blink of an eye, so we just have to keep our focus. Starting first here, and really anywhere towards the front here at Martinsville pays off bigger than probably most race tracks. Having that great pit stall up front, as well as staying up towards the front and keeping your fenders on it the whole race is important, so, like I said, I couldn’t be more proud of these guys right now.”

Logano will share the front row for Sunday’s race with fellow-Chaser Martin Truex Jr., while non-Chaser A.J. Allmendinger lines up in third in the second row. Allmendinger will share the second row with another non-Chaser, Jamie McMurray.

“We qualified third here in the spring,” Truex said. “Honestly, I didn’t know we had a car that was that fast today. We stuck with it. The guys did a good job making adjustments there, and we got quicker each round. That’s what you’ve got to do.”

Logano also turned in the fastest lap in round two with a lap of 19.166 seconds/98.800 mph. McMurray was fastest in the opening round with a 19.205-second/98.599 mph, the fastest lap, overall, of the three-round qualifying session.

Six of the eight remaining Chasers advanced to the third and final round of qualifying to claim top-12 spots on the race starting grid. Jeff Gordon and Kyle Busch qualified fifth and sixth to claim third-row starting spots., while Brad Keselowski and reigning series champion Kevin Harvick rounded out the top-12 to start in row six on Sunday.

The two Chase drivers not getting to round three were Carl Edwards and Kurt Busch. After advancing to round two, they claimed the 14th and 15th spots on the grid.

Here’s the complete starting grid for Sunday’s Goody’s Headache Relief Shot 500:

Row 1 — Joey Logano (No. 22 Ford), Martin Truex Jr. (No. 78 Chevrolet)
Row 2 — A.J. Allmendinger (No. 47 Chevrolet), Jamie McMurray (No. 1 Chevrolet)
Row 3 — Jeff Gordon (No. 24 Chevrolet), Kyle Busch (No. 18 Toyota)
Row 4 — Ryan Newman (No. 31 Chevrolet), Aric Almirola (No. 43 Ford)
Row 5 — Kyle Larson (No. 42 Chevrolet), Denny Hamlin (No. 11 Toyota)
Row 6 — Brad Keselowski (No. 2 Ford), Kevin Harvick (No. 4 Chevrolet)
Row 7 — Tony Stewart (No. 14 Chevrolet), Carl Edwards (No. 19 Toyota)
Row 8 — Kurt Busch (No. 41 Chevrolet), Danica Patrick (No. 10 Chevrolet)
Row 9 — Clint Bowyer (No. 15 Toyota), Matt Kenseth (No. 20 Toyota)
Row 10 — Casey Mears (No. 13 Chevrolet), Sam Hornish Jr. (No. 9 Ford)
Row 11 — Jimmie Johnson (No. 48 Chevrolet), Dale Earnhardt Jr. (No. 88 Chevrolet)
Row 12 — Justin Allgaier (No. 51 Chevrolet), Kasey Kahne (No. 5 Chevrolet)
Row 13 — Greg Biffle (No. 16 Ford), Paul Menard (No. 27 Chevrolet)
Row 14 — Landon Cassill (No. 40 Chevrolet), David Ragan (No. 55 Toyota)
Row 15 — Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (No. 17 Ford), Austin Dillon (No. 3 Chevrolet)
Row 16 — Cole Whitt (No. 35 Ford), Trevor Bayne (No. 6 Ford)
Row 17 — David Gilliland (No. 38 Ford), Brett Moffitt (No. 34 Ford)
Row 18 — Jeb Burton (No. 23 Toyota), Matt DiBenedetto (No. 83 Toyota)
Row 19 — Ryan Preece (No. 98 Ford), Michael Annett (No. 46 Chevrolet)
Row 20 — J.J. Yeley (No. 26 Toyota), Kyle Fowler (No. 32 Ford)
Row 21 — Alex Bowman (No. 7 Chevrolet), Timmy Hill (No. 62 Chevrolet)
Row 22 — Alex Kennedy (No. 33 Chevrolet)

DNQ (did not qualify): none

Follow Auto Racing Daily on Twitter @AutoRacingDaily or like Auto Racing Daily on Facebook ( Amanda’s also on Twitter @NASCARexaminer and has a fan/like page on Facebook: NASCAR Examiner

Share This Post

Posted by on October 31, 2015. Filed under Breaking News,Featured,NASCAR. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply