Share This Post


Joey Logano claims pole at Kansas Speedway

Joey Logano wins the pole for the SpongeBob SquarePants 400 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Kansas Speedway on May 8, 2015 (photo courtesy of Getty Images for NASCAR)

Joey Logano wins the pole for the SpongeBob SquarePants 400 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Kansas Speedway on May 8, 2015 (photo courtesy of Getty Images for NASCAR)


With a fast lap of 192.397 mph/28.067 seconds in the third and final round of NASCAR Sprint Cup Series qualifying at Kansas Speedway near Kansas City, Kan., on Friday, Joey Logano claimed the pole for Saturday night’s SpongeBob SquarePants 400 at the track. It’s Logano’s series-leading fourth pole start of the season and the 12th of his career.

“That AAA Ford Fusion was on a rail and did whatever I asked it to do,” Logano said.

The pole snapped Kevin Harvick’s streak of consecutive Kansas pole at three. Harvick qualified sixth.

Logano was fast in the first round, posting a lap that was second-fastest to round-leading Carl Edwards. In the second round, though, Logano didn’t crack the top-five.

“We were third-quick in practice,” Logano said. “I thought we were faster (than the car showed in round two), obviously.”

Logano will share the front row with Kasey Kahne on Saturday. Brad Keselowski and Martin Truex Jr. will line up in the second row, in the third and fourth spots on the grid. After turning in the fastest lap in round one and second-fastest in round two, Edwards wound up fifth in the final pole-determining round.

Meanwhile, Greg Biffle became the first Roush Fenway Racing driver to get to the third round of a qualifying session, so far, in 2015. He qualified seventh.

“We just got a little better speed in our car, and this race track has been pretty good for us,” Biffle said.

Here’s the full starting line-up for the SpongeBob SquarePants 400:

Row 1: Joey Logano (No. 22 Ford), Kasey Kahne (No. 5 Chevrolet)
Row 2: Brad Keselowski (No. 2 Ford), Martin Truex Jr. (No. 78 Chevrolet)
Row 3: Carl Edwards (No. 19 Toyota), Kevin Harvick (No. 4 Chevrolet)
Row 4: Greg Biffle (No. 16 Ford), Kurt Busch (No. 41 Chevrolet)
Row 5: Jamie McMurray (No. 1 Chevrolet), Kyle Larson (No. 42 Chevrolet)
Row 6: Jeff Gordon (No. 24 Chevrolet), Erik Jones (No. 18 Toyota)
Row 7: Denny Hamlin (No. 11 Toyota), Aric Almirola (No. 43 Ford)
Row 8: Ryan Newman (No. 31 Chevrolet), Tony Stewart (No. 14 Chevrolet)
Row 9: Dale Earnhardt Jr. (No. 88 Chevrolet), Matt Kenseth (No. 20 Toyota)
Row 10: Jimmie Johnson (No. 48 Chevrolet), Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (No. 17 Ford)
Row 11: Clint Bowyer (No. 15 Toyota), Paul Menard (No. 27 Chevrolet)
Row 12: David Ragan (No. 55 Toyota), Casey Mears (No. 13 Chevrolet)
Row 13: Justin Allgaier (No. 51 Chevrolet), Sam Hornish Jr. (No. 9 Ford)
Row 14: Danica Patrick (No. 10 Chevrolet), Austin Dillon (No. 3 Chevrolet)
Row 15: A.J. Allmendinger (No. 47 Chevrolet), Trevor Bayne (No. 6 Ford)
Row 16: Michael McDowell (No. 95 Ford), Ty Dillon (No. 33 Chevrolet)
Row 17: Jeb Burton (No. 26 Toyota), Cole Whitt (No. 35 Ford)
Row 18: Matt DiBenedetto (No. 83 Toyota), Alex Bowman (No. 7 Chevrolet)
Row 19: J.J. Yeley (No. 23 Toyota), David Gilliland (No. 38 Ford)
Row 20: Brett Moffitt (No. 34 Ford), Josh Wise (No. 98 Ford)
Row 21: Landon Cassill (No. 40 Chevrolet), Joey Gase (No. 32 Ford)
Row 22: Michael Annett (No. 46 Chevrolet)

DNQ (did not qualify): Brendan Gaughan

Follow Auto Racing Daily on Twitter @AutoRacingDaily or like Auto Racing Daily on Facebook ( Amanda’s also on Twitter @NASCARexaminer and has a fan/like page on Facebook: NASCAR Examiner

Share This Post

Posted by on May 9, 2015. Filed under Breaking News,Featured,NASCAR. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply