Share This Post


NASCAR Cup: 22 teams miss practice time at Talladega Superspeedway


In all, 22 team/drivers were docked time in one of two practice sessions at Talladega (Ala.) Superspeedway on Friday as preparations were made for Sunday’s Alabama 500, the second of three races that make up the second round, or round of 12, in the 2017 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series playoffs. Penalties for 19 of those drivers/teams were holdovers from the previous race weekend at Charlotte Motor Speedway in Concord, N.C., as a result of rain forcing the cancellation of of two practice sessions there that were scheduled for last Saturday.

The additional penalties assessed for Talladega are the result of inspection issues prior to the Bank of America 500 at Charlotte on Oct. 8.

Below, is a list of the penalties served during practice at Talladega:

Missed 30 minutes in opening practice and an additional 15 minutes in final practice — No. 47 JTG-Daugherty Racing Chevrolet team of A.J. Allmendinger and No. 78 Furniture Row Racing Toyota team of Martin Truex Jr.

Missing 15 minutes of final practice — No. 18, No. 19 and No. 20 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota teams of Kyle Busch, Daniel Suarez and Matt Kenseth: No. 3 Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet of Austin Dillon; No. 10 and No. 14 Stewart-Haas Racing Ford teams of Danica Patrick and Clint Bowyer; No. 17 Roush Fenway Racing Ford team of Ricky Stenhouse Jr., No. 22 Team Penske Ford team of Joey Logano; the No. 55 Premium Motorsports Toyota team of D.J. Kennington; No. 37 JTG-Daugherty Racing Chevrolet team of Chris Buescher; No. 48 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet team of Jimmie Johnson; and No. 95 Leavine Family Racing Chevrolet team of Michael McDowell.

Missed 30 minutes in final practice — No. 5, No. 24 and No. 88 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet teams of Kasey Kahne, Chase Elliott and Dale Earnhardt Jr.; No. 1 Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet team of Jamie McMurray; No. 4 Stewart-Haas Racing Ford team of Kevin Harvick; No. 6 Roush Fenway Racing Ford team of Trevor Bayne; No. 32 Go FAS Racing Ford team of Matt DiBenedetto; and the No. 77 Furniture Row Racing Toyota team of Erik Jones.

Follow Auto Racing Daily on Twitter @AutoRacingDaily or like Auto Racing Daily on Facebook ( Amanda’s also on Twitter @NASCARexaminer and has a fan/like page on Facebook (

Share This Post

Posted by on October 14, 2017. Filed under Breaking News,Featured,NASCAR. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply