Share This Post


NASCAR Cup: adjusted playoff standings after Richmond Raceway

The 2017 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series playoff drivers (photo courtesy of Getty Images for NASCAR)

The 2017 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series playoff drivers (photo courtesy of Getty Images for NASCAR)


Martin Truex Jr. wrecked Saturday night in overtime of the Federated Auto Parts 400 at Richmond (Va.) Raceway, the final season of the 2017 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series regular-season, finale, but that’s in the past and he heads into the playoffs, set to begin Sept. 17 at Chicagoland Speedway in Joliet, Ill., as the points leader. Added to his 2,000 base points, Truex has a series-leading 53 playoff points, including a point for a stage win at Richmond and 15 bonus points from when he clinched the regular-season title a week ago at Darlington (S.C.) Raceway.

“Well, I hope we don’t need them,” Truex said of his bonus points. ”Obviously, I think it’s a good thing that we have them, and I think we could have used them last year, obviously, with the way the playoffs worked for us.  But I think for us, just focus on running as strong as we possibly can and keep the momentum going that we’ve had here lately.  Cars have been just lightning fast and team’s been doing a great job.”

With Kyle Larson claiming his fourth win of the season, the three drivers who headed into Richmond in position to make the playoffs on points — Jamie McMurray, Chase Elliott and Matt Kenseth — officially made the playoffs Saturday night.

Those three drivers are joined by the following race winners in NASCAR’s post season: Truex, Larson, Jimmie Johnson, Kyle Busch, Denny Hamlin, Brad Keselowski, Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Kevin Harvick, Ryan Blaney, Kurt Busch, Ryan Newman, Austin Dillon and Kasey Kahne.

Playoff drivers head into the postseason with a base of 2000 points, plus playoff points earned for stage (one per stage win) and race wins (5 per race win) throughout the regular season and bonus points awarded for their respective positions in the points standings at the conclusion of the regular season. Here are the standings:
1. Martin Truex Jr. — 2053 points
2. Kyle Larson — 2033
3. Kyle Busch — 2029
4. Brad Keselowski — 2019
5. Jimmie Johnson — 2017
6. Kevin Harvick — 2015
7. Denny Hamlin — 2013
8. Ricky Stenhouse Jr. — 2010
9. Ryan Blaney — 2008
10. Chase Elliott — 2006
11. Ryan Newman — 2005
11. Kurt Busch — 2005
11. Kasey Kahne — 2005
11. Austin Dillon — 2005
11. Matt Kenseth — 2005
16. Jamie McMurray — 2003

Follow Auto Racing Daily on Twitter @AutoRacingDaily or like Auto Racing Daily on Facebook ( Amanda’s also on Twitter @NASCARexaminer and has a fan/like page on Facebook (

Share This Post

Posted by on September 10, 2017. Filed under Breaking News,Featured,NASCAR. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply