Share This Post


NASCAR Cup: Charlotte Motor Speedway ‘roval’ race shortened

CONCORD, NC – OCTOBER 18: NASCAR driver Kurt Busch manuevers the number 14 car around the new Roval road course during Goodyear tire testing at Charlotte Motor Speedway on October 18, 2017 in Concord, North Carolina. (Photo by Bob Leverone/Getty Images for NASCAR)


The Bank of America 500 on the infield road course at Charlotte (N.C.) Motor Speedway has become the Bank of America 400, as the race length will be shortened from 500K to 400K, according to a report Tuesday from The race is scheduled for Sept. 30, making it the elimination race of the first round of the postseason playoffs. It replaces the former Bank of America 500 that was run on Charlotte Motor Speedway’s oval.

The course, being referred to as a “roval” has been modified multiple times. Its current layout is 2.28 miles long, so the shortened race will be a 109-lap race, down from 137 laps, if the layout is not modified again. That layout includes most of the traditional oval and features two chicanes, 17 turns and a 35-ft elevation change.

“You have to be on your game, that’s for sure,” Trevor Bayne said during a test in March. “You can’t really let your guard down anywhere. There’s no room to make mistakes. If you make a mistake, you’re going to pay for it pretty quickly. If you try to do something and it doesn’t work, you’ll pay the price. It’s going to be a survival race … If you’re smart, you take care of your car and you don’t make mistakes, you’ll have a really good shot at the end for a good finish. I enjoyed it. It was a challenge for me—something new—and I enjoyed that part of it.”

Tests are scheduled for July 10 and July 17. Across those two days, all full-time Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series drivers will have an opportunity to test. Driver test schedules are as follows:

July 10 — Martin Truex Jr., Jimmie Johnson, Chase Elliott, Kevin Harvick, Clint Bowyer, Denny Hamlin, Daniel Suarez, Brad Keselowski, Paul Menard, Bayne, Jamie McMurray, Austin Dillon, Chris Buescher, Kasey Kahne, Michael McDowell, Gray Gaulding, Landon Cassill and B.J. McLeod.

July 17 — Kyle Busch, Erik Jones, Ryan Blaney, Joey Logano, Kyle Larson, Aric Almirola, Kurt Busch, Alex Bowman, William Byron, Bubba Wallace, Ryan Newman, Ricky Stenhouse Jr., A.J. Allmendinger, Ty Dillon, Matt DiBenedetto, Corey LaJoie, David Ragan and Reed Sorenson.

The NASCAR Xfinity Series is scheduled to race on the “roval” Sept. 29.

Follow Auto Racing Daily on Twitter @AutoRacingDaily or like Auto Racing Daily on Facebook (

Share This Post

Posted by on July 6, 2018. Filed under Breaking News,Featured,Monster Energy NASCAR Cup,NASCAR. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply