Share This Post


NASCAR points reset for Chase


With the 26-race NASCAR Sprint Cup Series “regular season” in the history books, the championship points standings have been reset for the 16 drivers vying for the 2015 Sprint Cup in the Chase for the Sprint that’ll kick off Sunday at Chicagoland Speedway in Joliet, Ill.

The 16 Chasers received a base 2000 points, plus three points for each “regular season” win. With three drivers — Jimmie Johnson, Kyle Busch, Matt Kenseth — tied at the top of the wins column, those three are tied atop the points standings with 2012 points.

Here’s how the points shake out after the readjustmnet, heading into the Chase’s first race at Chicagoland:

1. Jimmie Johnson, 2012
1. Kyle Busch, 2012
1. Matt Kenseth, 2012
4. Joey Logano, 2009
5. Kevin Harvick, 2006
5. Dale Earnhardt Jr., 2006
5. Kurt Busch, 2006
5. Carl Edwards, 2006
9. Brad Keselowski, 2003
9. Martin Truex Jr., 2003
9. Denny Hamlin, 2003
12. Jamie McMurray, 2000
12. Jeff Gordon, 2000
12. Ryan Newman, 2000
12. Paul Menard, 2000
12. Clint Bowyer, 2000

Here’s a link to a Chase grid you can fill out. My round-by-round Chase predictions.

Follow Auto Racing Daily on Twitter @AutoRacingDaily or like Auto Racing Daily on Facebook ( Amanda’s also on Twitter @NASCARexaminer and has a fan/like page on Facebook: NASCAR Examiner

Share This Post

Posted by on September 15, 2015. Filed under Breaking News,Featured,NASCAR. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply