Share This Post


NASCAR releases 2017 schedules

Sprint_Cup_Series_logoBy AMANDA VINCENT

On Thursday, NASCAR released the 2017 schedules for its three national touring series — Sprint Cup Xfinity and Camping World Truck.

“Announcing the 2017 national series schedules this early in the season is another example of the collaborative spirit across the NASCAR industry,” NASCAR Executive Vice President and Chief Racing Development Officer Steve O’Donnell. “It’s an exciting time in NASCAR with some of the most intriguing racing we’ve seen in years. With the 2017 schedule solidified, the industry can now concentrate on the remainder of this season, while planning for the future much earlier than in previous years.”

Sprint Cup Series drivers and race team personnel will have less time off next season with the 2017 schedule including only two off-weekends between the Feb. 18 Sprint Unlimited at Daytona (Fla.) International Speedway and the Nov. 19 season-finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

A date shift between Kansas Speedway and Talladega (Ala.) Superspeedway in the fall will, somewhat, change the complexion of the Chase for the Sprint Cup. With the swap, Kansas, not Talladega, will be the cut-off race of the second round.

Texas Motor Speedway’s spring Sprint Cup race will move from Saturday night to a Sunday afternoon, perhaps following in the footsteps of Richmond (Va.) International Raceway, as RIR made a similar change this season. Other changes worth noting — the Dover (Del.) International Speedway sprint race will move to the weekend after the Coca-Cola 600, and Michigan International Speedway’s second race of the season will return to an old familiar slot in mid-August.

Here’s a look at the 2017 Sprint Cup Series schedule:

2/18 Daytona International Speedway (Unlimited)  
2/19 Daytona International Speedway (Daytona 500 Qualifying)  
2/23 Daytona International Speedway (Duel)  
2/26 Daytona 500  
3/5 Atlanta Motor Speedway  
3/12 Las Vegas Motor Speedway  
3/19 Phoenix International Raceway  
3/26 Auto Club Speedway  
4/2 Martinsville Speedway  
4/9 Texas Motor Speedway  
4/23 Bristol Motor Speedway  
4/30 Richmond International Raceway  
5/7 Talladega Superspeedway  
5/13 Kansas Speedway  
5/20 Charlotte Motor Speedway (NASCAR All-Star Race)  
5/28 Charlotte Motor Speedway  
6/4 Dover International Speedway  
6/11 Pocono Raceway  
6/18 Michigan International Speedway  
6/25 Sonoma Raceway  
7/1 Daytona International Speedway  
7/8 Kentucky Speedway  
7/16 New Hampshire Motor Speedway  
7/23 Indianapolis Motor Speedway  
7/30 Pocono Raceway  
8/6 Watkins Glen International  
8/13 Michigan International Speedway  
8/19 Bristol Motor Speedway  
9/3 Darlington Raceway  
9/9 Richmond International Raceway  
9/17 Chicagoland Speedway  
9/24 New Hampshire Motor Speedway  
10/1 Dover International Speedway  
10/7 Charlotte Motor Speedway  
10/15 Talladega Superspeedway  
10/22 Kansas Speedway  
10/29 Martinsville Speedway  
11/5 Texas Motor Speedway  
11/12 Phoenix International Raceway  
11/19 Homestead-Miami Speedway

Share This Post

Posted by on May 6, 2016. Filed under Breaking News,Featured,NASCAR. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply