Share This Post


NASCAR Sprint Cup: Bank of America 500 at Charlotte – Race Line-Up

Jeff Gordon put his No. 24 Axalta Chevrolet SS at the front of the field with a fast qualifying lap of 27.791 seconds, 194.308 mph to claim the pole for Saturday night’s Bank of America 500 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Charlotte Motor Speedway.


“Our No. 24 Axalta Chevrolet was fast in practice,” said Gordon. “We were fourth fastest and made two really solid qualifying runs. And to me, that was more important than going out 43rd (to qualify). It was an added bonus to go out late. It’s just one of those things were the car builds confidence in me. And when we go out there together (as a team) and win a pole, it builds confidence back in the team. There is nothing greater than when it’s all on the line and all the pressure is there. You’re the final car to go. There’s nothing worse than letting them down, and nothing better than stepping up and knocking it out of the park.”


This marked his 74th career pole in 720 Sprint Cup races for the four-time champion, the second of the 2013 season. Gordon earned his first career pole at Charlotte Motor Speedway on this very day (Oct. 10th) in 1993, and became the youngest pole winner at the track at his age of 22 years, 2 months, 6 days. The record still stands.


Kevin Harvick, last week’s race pole winner and subsequent race winner at Kansas Speedway, had a strong qualifying effort in his No. 29 Jimmy John’s Chevrolet SS; and will start on the outside front row next to Gordon.  This is Harvick’s ninth top-10 start this year.

POS driver Car # Make
1 Jeff Gordon 24 Chevrolet
2 Kevin Harvick 29 Chevrolet
3 Greg Biffle 16 Ford
4 Jimmie Johnson 48 Chevrolet
5 Kasey Kahne 5 Chevrolet
6 Dale Earnhardt Jr 88 Chevrolet
7 Ryan Newman 39 Chevrolet
8 Juan Pablo Montoya 42 Chevrolet
9 Kyle Busch 18 Toyota
10 Kurt Busch 78 Chevrolet
11 Aric Almirola 43 Ford
12 Joey Logano 22 Ford
13 Paul Menard 27 Chevrolet
14 Clint Bowyer 15 Toyota
15 Carl Edwards 99 Ford
16 Ricky Stenhouse Jr 17 Ford
17 Martin Truex Jr 56 Toyota
18 Denny Hamlin 11 Toyota
19 Brian Scott 33 Chevrolet
20 Matt Kenseth 20 Toyota
21 Kyle Larson 51 Chevrolet
22 Mark Martin 14 Chevrolet
23 Brad Keselowski 2 Ford
24 Bobby Labonte 47 Toyota
25 Jamie McMurray 1 Chevrolet
26 Jeff Burton 31 Chevrolet
27 Brian Vickers 55 Toyota
28 Casey Mears 13 Ford
29 Marcos Ambrose 9 Ford
30 David Ragan 34 Ford
31 Cole Whitt 30 Toyota
32 Landon Cassill 40 Chevrolet
33 Josh Wise 35 Ford
34 David Gilliland 38 Ford
35 Danica Patrick 10 Chevrolet
36 David Reutimann 83 Toyota
37 Michael McDowell 98 Ford
38 Joe Nemechek 87 Toyota
39 Dave Blaney 7 Chevrolet
40 Timmy Hill 32 Ford
41 Travis Kvapil 93 Toyota
42 J.J. Yeley 36 Chevrolet
43 Blake Koch 95 Ford

Share This Post

Posted by on October 11, 2013. Filed under Breaking News,NASCAR. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply