Share This Post


NASCAR Sprint Cup: Goody’s Headache Relief Shot 500 – Race Results

With 20 laps to go, Jeff Gordon – No. 24 Drive to End Hunger Chevrolet SS, made the winning pass in the Goody’s Headache Relief Shot 500 at Martinsville Speedway to score his first NASCAR Sprint Cup Series (NSCS) victory of the season.  It was his eighth win at Martinsville and the 88th Sprint Cup win of his career.  The victory ties him with Hendrick Motorsports teammate Jimmie Johnson, No. 48 Lowe’s Chevrolet SS, for the most wins at Martinsville among active drivers, trailing only Richard Petty and Darrell Waltrip on the all-time wins list at the .526-mile short track.   Gordon moves up two positions to third in the point standings, just 27 points behind the leader.


Gordon’s win clinched the 2013 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Manufacturers’ Cup Championship for Chevrolet. It marks the 11thconsecutive year, and the 37th time overall that the Bowtie Brand has captured the prestigious title in NASCAR’s premiere series. It is also the first Manufacturers’ Cup award for the Gen-6 Chevrolet SS race car.   It was the 14th NSCS win this year for Chevrolet and 716th overall.


Johnson brought his No. 48 Lowe’s Chevrolet SS home in fifth position in the race, which was his 14th top five finish of the year.  The five-time NSCS champion is now tied with Matt Kenseth for the championship lead with three races to go.

Matt Kenseth (Toyota) was second, Clint Bowyer (Toyota) was third and Brad Keselowski (Ford) rounded out the top five in the race.

POS Car # driver Make
1 24 Jeff Gordon Chevrolet
2 20 Matt Kenseth Toyota
3 15 Clint Bowyer Toyota
4 2 Brad Keselowski Ford
5 48 Jimmie Johnson Chevrolet
6 29 Kevin Harvick Chevrolet
7 11 Denny Hamlin Toyota
8 88 Dale Earnhardt Jr Chevrolet
9 16 Greg Biffle Ford
10 1 Jamie McMurray Chevrolet
11 31 Jeff Burton Chevrolet
12 99 Carl Edwards Ford
13 42 Juan Pablo Montoya Chevrolet
14 22 Joey Logano Ford
15 18 Kyle Busch Toyota
16 56 Martin Truex Jr Toyota
17 10 Danica Patrick Chevrolet
18 78 Kurt Busch Chevrolet
19 9 Marcos Ambrose Ford
20 41 Aric Almirola Ford
21 13 Casey Mears Ford
22 27 Paul Menard Chevrolet
23 38 David Gilliland Ford
24 93 Travis Kvapil Toyota
25 55 Elliott Sadler Toyota
26 98 Michael McDowell Ford
27 5 Kasey Kahne Chevrolet
28 32 Ken Schrader Ford
29 40 Landon Cassill Chevrolet
30 36 J.J. Yeley Chevrolet
31 17 Ricky Stenhouse Jr Ford
32 47 Bobby Labonte Toyota
33 87 Joe Nemechek Toyota
34 35 Josh Wise Ford
35 30 Cole Whitt Toyota
36 14 Mark Martin Chevrolet
37 83 David Reutimann Toyota
38 39 Ryan Newman Chevrolet
39 7 Dave Blaney Chevrolet
40 95 Reed Sorenson Ford
41 33 Tony Raines Chevrolet
42 51 Kyle Larson Chevrolet
43 34 David Ragan Ford

Share This Post

Posted by on October 28, 2013. Filed under Breaking News,NASCAR. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply