Share This Post


NASCAR Sprint Cup Series: Aaron’s 499 at Talladega – Race Line-Up

Brian Scott won the pole for Sunday’s Aaron’s 499 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Talladega Superspeedway, where he posted a fast lap of 48.293 seconds, 198.290 mph in his No. 33 Shore Lodge Chevrolet SS.  In a wild knockout-style qualifying format consisting of three sessions, the new method for restrictor plate race tracks netted Scott his first career pole in Sprint Cup competition. His previous best start was 12th in this year’s season-opening Daytona 500.  Primarily a NASCAR Nationwide Series driver, Scott will lead the 43-car NASCAR Sprint Cup field to the green flag in just his fifth Cup start. It also marked the 31st pole for Chevrolet at the 2.66-mile track, the longest on the circuit.


“To be able to get a pole position for the little guys Joe Falk, team owner and Circle Sport racing we are just really in a fortunate position to be part of the RCR/ECR alliance,” said Scott. It’s the same horsepower, and same group that got the pole at Daytona in single-car qualifying.  I think it speaks volumes for the shop and the effort that those guys are putting forward both under the hood and across the body of these Chevy SSs.  I guess they have what it takes when it counts at these superspeedways.”


Scott’s Richard Childress Racing teammate, Paul Menard, was second quick in his No. 27 Richmond/Menards Chevrolet SS. AJ Allmendinger qualified third in the No. 47 Bush’s Beans Chevrolet SS, and Casey Mears was fourth in the No. 13 GEICO Chevy SS. Austin Dillon, who sat on the pole at this year’s Daytona 500, was the fastest qualifying rookie by posting the fifth quickest time in his No. 3 Bass Pro Shops Chevrolet SS; and teammate Ryan Newman qualified sixth in the No. 31 Caterpillar Chevy SS. The top six Chevrolet SS race cars are powered by Earnhardt Childress Racing engines.


Also demonstrating strong Chevy power in today’s qualifying results with a seventh place effort was the No. 10 GoDaddy Chevrolet SS driven by Danica Patrick, along with Stewart-Haas Racing teammates Kevin Harvick, who qualified his No. 4 Jimmy John’s Chevrolet SS in eighth, and Kurt Busch who was ninth fast in the No. 41 Haas Automation Chevrolet SS.

POS Car # Driver Make
1 33 Brian Scott Chevrolet
2 27 Paul Menard Chevrolet
3 47 AJ Allmendinger Chevrolet
4 13 Casey Mears Chevrolet
5 3 Austin Dillon Chevrolet
6 31 Ryan Newman Chevrolet
7 10 Danica Patrick Chevrolet
8 4 Kevin Harvick Chevrolet
9 41 Kurt Busch Chevrolet
10 99 Carl Edwards Ford
11 24 Jeff Gordon Chevrolet
12 14 Tony Stewart Chevrolet
13 2 Brad Keselowski Ford
14 95 Michael McDowell Ford
15 43 Aric Almirola Ford
16 22 Joey Logano Ford
17 7 Michael Annett Chevrolet
18 55 Brian Vickers Toyota
19 18 Kyle Busch Toyota
20 48 Jimmie Johnson Chevrolet
21 20 Matt Kenseth Toyota
22 36 Reed Sorenson Chevrolet
23 21 Trevor Bayne Ford
24 83 Ryan Truex Toyota
25 17 Ricky Stenhouse Jr Ford
26 9 Marcos Ambrose Ford
27 15 Clint Bowyer Toyota
28 66 Michael Waltrip Toyota
29 42 Kyle Larson Chevrolet
30 88 Dale Earnhardt Jr Chevrolet
31 26 Cole Whitt Toyota
32 1 Jamie McMurray Chevrolet
33 23 Alex Bowman Toyota
34 11 Denny Hamlin Toyota
35 16 Greg Biffle Ford
36 98 Josh Wise Ford
37 32 Terry Labonte Ford
38 51 Justin Allgaier Chevrolet
39 34 David Ragan Ford
40 38 David Gilliland Ford
41 40 Landon Cassill Chevrolet
42 5 Kasey Kahne Chevrolet
43 78 Martin Truex Jr Chevrolet

Share This Post

Posted by on May 4, 2014. Filed under Breaking News,NASCAR. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply