Share This Post


NASCAR Sprint Cup Series: STP 500 at Martinsville – Race Results

Chevrolet added another notch in the win column at Martinsville Speedway, bringing the all-time victory total to 53 wins in 104 races at the 0.526-mile track. Kurt Busch brought home the victory for the bowtie brand in his No. 41 Haas Automation Chevrolet SS.  The win in the sixth race on the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series (NSCS) schedule, breaks an 83 race winless streak for Busch and is his second career victory at Martinsville.  Stewart-Haas Racing now has two drivers with victories this season. Busch joins his teammate Kevin Harvick as the sixth race winner in the NSCS this season.


“I didn’t know if we’d be able to do it,” said Kurt Busch following the race. “The No. 48 car is king here – him or the 24. The old theory is if you can’t beat ’em, join ’em. We have a Hendrick chassis prepared by Stewart-Haas Racing. Hendrick Motorsports and Chevrolet… thanks to those guys. I’ve been on this journey for a while. Every time you come to Martinsville you draw a line through it; like ‘there’s no way I’ll be able to challenge those Hendrick guys or challenge for a top-10’. This Stewart-Haas team gave me a team to do it. Now I know what I need to do on Saturdays: don’t even practice. Just show up and race on Sunday that way I won’t dial out the car! It’s a dream come true to have Gene Haas call you and tell you that he wants you to drive and he wants to go for trophies and wins. It’s an unbelievable feeling to deliver.”


Busch led a Team Chevy sweep of the top-three positions.  Jimmie Johnson, an eight-time winner at Martinsville Speedway led a race-high 296 laps in his No. 48 Lowe’s Chevrolet SS, but was overtaken by Busch for the win with only a 10 laps remaining, relegating the six-time NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion to a second-place finish.  Johnson was followed by his Hendrick Motorsports teammate Dale Earnhardt, Jr., No. 88 Diet Mountain Dew Chevrolet SS, in the third position.  Earnhardt, Jr. battled his way from the 26th starting spot to earn a top-three finish.  With the run; Earnhardt, Jr. resumes the point’s lead by nine markers over Matt Kenseth (Toyota).

POS Car # Driver Make
1 41 Kurt Busch Chevrolet
2 48 Jimmie Johnson Chevrolet
3 88 Dale Earnhardt Jr Chevrolet
4 22 Joey Logano Ford
5 9 Marcos Ambrose Ford
6 20 Matt Kenseth Toyota
7 4 Kevin Harvick Chevrolet
8 43 Aric Almirola Ford
9 15 Clint Bowyer Toyota
10 27 Paul Menard Chevrolet
11 47 AJ Allmendinger Chevrolet
12 24 Jeff Gordon Chevrolet
13 99 Carl Edwards Ford
14 18 Kyle Busch Toyota
15 3 Austin Dillon Chevrolet
16 55 Brian Vickers Toyota
17 14 Tony Stewart Chevrolet
18 16 Greg Biffle Ford
19 11 Denny Hamlin Toyota
20 31 Ryan Newman Chevrolet
21 78 Martin Truex Jr Chevrolet
22 5 Kasey Kahne Chevrolet
23 51 Justin Allgaier Chevrolet
24 13 Casey Mears Chevrolet
25 40 Landon Cassill Chevrolet
26 38 David Gilliland Ford
27 42 Kyle Larson Chevrolet
28 34 David Ragan Ford
29 26 Cole Whitt Toyota
30 83 Ryan Truex Toyota
31 7 Michael Annett Chevrolet
32 10 Danica Patrick Chevrolet
33 32 Travis Kvapil Ford
34 36 Reed Sorenson Chevrolet
35 98 Josh Wise Chevrolet
36 23 Alex Bowman Toyota
37 95 Michael McDowell Ford
38 2 Brad Keselowski Ford
39 33 David Stremme Chevrolet
40 17 Ricky Stenhouse Jr Ford
41 30 Parker Kligerman Toyota
42 1 Jamie McMurray Chevrolet
43 66 Joe Nemechek Toyota

Share This Post

Posted by on March 31, 2014. Filed under Breaking News,NASCAR. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply