Share This Post


NASCAR Truck: making the chase — where they stand after Bristol

Ben Kennedy joined the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series 2016 race winners’ club Wednesday night with a victory in the UNOH 200 at Bristol (Ten.) Motor Speedway. He became the sixth different series championship-eligible driver to get to victory lane, 13 races in the season, to secure his position in the first chase for the Truck Series.
The six championship-eligible race winners have a combined 11 wins out of 13th, with Sprint Cup Series drivers Kyle Busch and Kyle Larson having a win apiece. Truck Series rookie William Byron continues to lead the way with five wins and also leads the points standings. Two-time champion Matt Crafton is the only other multi-race winner with two trips to victory lane.
Three races remain in the Truck Series regular season before the eight-driver chase gets underway. So there is a possibility that one single-win driver could end up on the outside looking in when the chase starts. But for that to happen, three currently-winless drivers would have to win in the next three races.
Daniel Hemric leads the way, points-wise, among drivers still in search of their first wins of the season. Hemric is second in the overall standings.
Here’s a look at the standings following the UNOH 200 at Bristol, including drivers all but locked into the chase, along with drivers just on the outside of chase-berth territory:
1. William Byron (5 wins)
2. Matt Crafton (2 wins)
3. Johnny Sauter (1 win)
3. Christopher Bell (1 win)
3. Ben Kennedy (1 win)
3. John Hunter Nemechek (1 win)
7. Daniel Hemric (312 points)
8. Timothy Peters (302 points)
9. Cole Custer (273 points)
10. Tyler Reddick (270 points)
Follow Auto Racing Daily on Twitter @AutoRacingDaily or like Auto Racing Daily on Facebook ( Amanda’s also on Twitter @NASCARexaminer and has a fan/like page on Facebook (

Share This Post

Posted by on August 21, 2016. Filed under Breaking News,Featured,NASCAR. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply