Share This Post


NASCAR Xfinity: Richard Childress Racing swaps crew chiefs for Homestead

Two of Richard Childress Racing’s four NASCAR Xfinity Series teams will swap crew chiefs for Saturday’s Ford EcoBoost 300 Xfinity season-finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway. Nick Harrison and Mike Hillman Jr. will switch pit boxes, as Harrison will move from the No. 3 entry of Ty Dillon to the No. 33 team of Brandon Jones. As a result, Mike Hillman Jr. will move from the No. 33 team to the No. 3 team.
Dillon and the No. 3 team’s stats have dropped significantly this season, compared to last year. Dillon posted 12 top-fives and 25 top-10 finishes last season on his way to a third-place finish in the 2015 championship points standings. This year, though, he has eight top-fives and 16 top-10s with one race remaining and was eliminated from the first Xfinity Series chase in the first round. Although there has been no official announcement, Dillon is expected to make the move to full-time Sprint Cup competition in 2017.
Daniel Hemric will join RCR as a full-time Xfinity Series driver next season, presumably to replace Dillon, and Danny Stockman Jr. will be his crew chief.
The 2016 season is Jones’ first full season of Xfinity Series competition.
Justin Alexander will remain as crew chief with the No. 2 team that will have Austin Dillon as its driver Saturday and Homestead, and Shane Wilson will remain with Brendan Gaughan and the No. 2 team.
Follow Auto Racing Daily on Twitter @AutoRacingDaily or like Auto Racing Daily on Facebook ( Amanda’s also on Twitter @NASCARexaminer and has a fan/like page on Facebook (

Share This Post

Posted by on November 16, 2016. Filed under Breaking News,Featured,NASCAR. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply