Share This Post


Next Up: Crown Jewel At The Brickyard

It’ll be here before you know it, and it’ll be a big one … one of the biggest on the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series schedule – the Crown Royal Presents The John Wayne Walding 400 at the Brickyard (July 27 at 1 p.m. ET on ESPN).

At one of the world’s most iconic sporting venues – Indianapolis Motor Speedway – 43 drivers will vie for the honor of participating in one of the sport’s most unique celebrations. That, of course, is kissing the Yard of Bricks.
A few notes whet the Indy appetite before going full throttle next week.
Ø It’s the 20th anniversary of the inaugural Brickyard 400, won by Jeff Gordon, who’s still the youngest winner ever there at 23 years, 2 days.
Ø It’s the place of championships – 15 of the 20 winners are either past, reigning or future series champions. That includes NASCAR Hall of Famers Dale Earnhardt and Dale Jarrett and 2015 inductee Bill Elliott.
Ø Eight times, the winner of the Brickyard race went on to win that year’s championship. Those wins are split among five champions –Jimmie Johnson (three times), Gordon, Tony StewartBobby Labonte and Dale Jarrett.
Ø Chevrolet has won the last 11 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at The Brickyard. The victory stranglehold falls short of the record, however. Chevy does hold the all-time record of 13 consecutive wins, at Talladega Superspeedway, from 1999-2005.
Ø Jeff Gordon and Jimmie Johnson are tied for the all-time Brickyard wins lead, with four each.

Share This Post

Posted by on July 17, 2014. Filed under Breaking News,NASCAR. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply