Share This Post


Richard Petty receives award


Seven-time NASCAR Cup champion and NASCAR Hall of Famer Richard Petty was honored Thursday with the Cameron R. Argetsinger Award for Outstanding Contributions to Motorsports at the International Motor Racing Research Center Award Dinner, hosted by the Corning Museum of Glass in Corning, N.Y.

Petty is the second recipient of the award. NASCAR and IndyCar team owner Chip Ganassi won the first award last year.

The award’s namesake, Argetsinger, was the “founder and organizer of the first races at Watkins Glen,” according to a press release from Richard Petty Motorsports.

Petty is the all-time winningest driver in NASCAR, with 200-career wins in the premier series, now known as the Sprint Cup Series. He’s tied with fellow Hall of Famer Dale Earnhardt for most championships at NASCAR’s top level with seven. Petty competed in eight NASCAR events at Watkins Glen, including a race in 1964 in which his fellow-competitiors included his father, another NASCAR Hall of Fame member, Lee Petty.

Petty now is an owner in NASCAR’s Cup series, with his Richard Petty Motorsports fielding the No. 9 Ford for Sam Hornish Jr. and the No. 43 Ford for Aric Almirola. The team most recently won a Daytona (Fla.) International Raceway with its No. 43 car and Almirola in July 2014. RPM also field a NASCAR Xfinity Series entry — the No. 43 Ford for Dakoda Armstrong.

Follow Auto Racing Daily on Twitter @AutoRacingDaily or like Auto Racing Daily on Facebook ( Amanda’s also on Twitter @NASCARexaminer and has a fan/like page on Facebook: NASCAR Examiner

Share This Post

Posted by on August 7, 2015. Filed under Breaking News,Featured,NASCAR. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply