Share This Post


Streak Of Recent Michigan Winners To Continue

With Brendan Gaughan the only previous NASCAR Camping World Truck Series race winner at Michigan entered in Saturday’s Michigan National Guard 200 it means the streak of new winners over the past eight races will continue.

Gaughan, who enters this weekend looking for his first win of the season, won in 2003 at the track. There have been eight different winners beginning with Dennis Setzer’s 2005 victory.

Greg Biffle and Travis Kvapil are the only two-time Michigan winners but neither is entered in this week’s race.

One driver who could continue the streak of different winners is Miguel Paludo. Paludo looks to continue his impressive run to a first NCWTS victory at Michigan International Speedway and also set a new personal record.

In his two previous starts at MIS, the Brazilian native has enjoyed success with a pair of top 10s highlighted by a third-place finish in 2011. Paludo has already equaled his career-best season total of seven top-10 finishes and can set a new career mark if he keeps his streak alive at MIS.

While Ryan Blaney doesn’t have any previous starts at Michigan in a truck, he enters this weekend on a roll after his win at Pocono. The 19-year old driver also has some experience at the two-mile oval finishing second in an ARCA race earlier this year.

In fact, Blaney could be a part of two streaks this weekend at the track. He would be the ninth consecutive different winner at MIS and also the first driver win back-to-back races since Johnny Sauter did it to open the 2013 campaign.

Share This Post

Posted by on August 15, 2013. Filed under Breaking News,NASCAR. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply