Share This Post


Ultra-Competitive Season Closing in on Winners Mark

Of the nine drivers to win races in the 2013 IZOD IndyCar Series season, four have been first-time winners (James Hinchcliffe, Takuma Sato, Simon Pagenaud, and most recently, Charlie Kimball).

Helio Castroneves and Scott Dixon are also among the nine winners this season. Castroneves, who leads Dixon by 31 points entering the Aug. 25 GoPro Grand Prix of Sonoma, was also a winner in 2000 and 2001, in which there were a record 11 different winners, while Dixon was a race winner as a 20-year-old rookie during the 2001 CART season.

“It was a shock,” said Dixon, who at 20 years, 9 months, 14 days was then the youngest winner in Indy car history (a record which was eclipsed by 19-year-old Marco Andretti at Sonoma in 2006 and later broken by Graham Rahal in 2008). “We had set goals of maybe winning a race later on in the season.”

There have been seven different winners in the eight IZOD IndyCar Series races on the 2.385-mile, 12-turn Sonoma Raceway, and a 10th different winner this season is plausible.

Yet to score a race victory this season are Will Power – a two-time Sonoma winner and runner-up to Team Penske teammate Ryan Briscoe in 2012; Dario Franchitti (31 career wins), who has three podium finishes in the past four races; and Ed Carpenter, the 2012 Auto Club Speedway race winner.

“You really don’t know who’s going to win any race; it’s a mystery every weekend and you really have to be on top of your game to make sure you score maximum points. It’s a lot of fun and typical INDYCAR,” said reigning IZOD IndyCar Series champion Ryan Hunter-Reay, who has recorded two victories and is third in the standings.



James Hinchcliffe St. Petersburg 1
Ryan Hunter-Reay Barber 10
Takuma Sato Long Beach 1
Tony Kanaan Indianapolis 16
Mike Conway Belle Isle 2
Simon Pagenaud Belle Isle 1
Helio Castroneves Texas 28
Scott Dixon Pocono 32
Charlie Kimball Mid-Ohio 1


Cristiano da Matta Monterrey (Mexico) 2
Helio Castroneves Long Beach 4
Scott Dixon Nazareth 1
Kenny Brack Twin Ring Motegi 5
Max Papis Portland 2
Dario Franchitti Cleveland 7
Michael Andretti Toronto 41
Patrick Carpentier Michigan 1
Bruno Junqueira Road America 1
Roberto Moreno Vancouver 2
Gil de Ferran Rockingham (England) 6

 2000 SEASON

Max Papis Homestead 1
Paul Tracy Long Beach 16
Adrian Fernandez Rio de Janiero 6
Michael Andretti Twin Ring Motegi 39
Gil de Ferran Nazareth 4
Juan Pablo Montoya Milwaukee 9
Helio Castroneves Detroit 1
Roberto Moreno Cleveland 1
Cristiano da Matta Chicago 1
Jimmy Vasser Houston 9
Christian Fittipaldi California 2

Share This Post

Posted by on August 14, 2013. Filed under Breaking News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply