Share This Post


Weather puts Chasers up front at Dover


With inclement weather and reports of the arrival of Hurricane Joaquin, NASCAR cancelled all track activity at Dover (Del.) International Speedway on Friday, resulting in the cancellation of Sprint Cup Series qualifying for Sunday’s AAA 400. With practice sessions scheduled for Friday also cancelled, the starting grid for Sunday’s race was set based on car owner points, putting the 16 Chase for the Sprint Cup competitors in the top 16 spots, led by points leader Matt Kenseth and his Joe Gibbs Racing teammate and second driver in the points standings, Denny Hamlin, next to him on the front row.

Here’s the full-rundown of the starting grid for the AAA 400 scheduled for an approximate 2:30 p.m. ET start on Sunday:

Row 1 — Matt Kenseth (No. 20 Toyota), Denny Hamlin (No. 11 Toyota)
Row 2 — Carl Edwards (No. 19 Toyota), Joey Logano (No. 22 Ford)
Row 3 — Jimmie Johnson (No. 48 Chevrolet), Ryan Newman (No. 31 Chevrolet)
Row 4 — Kurt Busch (No. 41 Chevrolet), Brad Keselowski (No. 2 Ford)
Row 5 — Martin Truex Jr. (No. 78 Chevrolet), Jeff Gordon (No. 24 Chevrolet)
Row 6 — Jamie McMurray (No. 1 Chevrolet), Dale Earnhardt Jr. (No. 88 Chevrolet)
Row 7 — Kyle Busch (No. 18 Toyota), Paul Menard (No. 27 Chevrolet)
Row 8 — Kevin Harvick (No. 4 Chevrolet), Clint Bowyer (No. 15 Toyota)
Row 9 — Kasey Kahne (No. 5 Chevrolet), Aric Almirola (No. 43 Ford)
Row 10 — Kyle Larson (No. 42 Chevrolet), Greg Biffle (No. 16 Ford)
Row 11 — Austin Dillon (No. 3 Chevrolet), Casey Mears (No. 13 Chevrolet)
Row 12 — A.J. Allmendinger (No. 47 Chevrolet), Danica Patrick (No. 10 Chevrolet)
Row 13 — Tony Stewart (No. 14 Chevrolet), Sam Hornish Jr. (No. 9 Ford)
Row 14 — Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (No. 17 Ford), David Ragan (No. 55 Toyota)
Row 15 — Trevor Bayne (No. 6 Ford), Justin Allgaier (No. 51 Chevrolet)
Row 16 — Cole Whitt (No. 35 Ford), David Gilliland (No. 38 Ford)
Row 17 — Landon Cassill (No. 40 Chevrolet), Brett Moffitt (No. 34 Ford)
Row 18 — Alex Bowman (No. 7 Chevrolet), Alex Kennedy (No. 33 Chevrolet)
Row 19 — Matt DiBenedetto (No. 82 Toyota), Michael Annett (No. 46 Chevrolet)
Row 20 — Jeb Burton (No. 23 Toyota), Reed Sorenson (No. 98 Ford)
Row 21 — Josh Wise (No. 32 Chevrolet), J.J. Yeley (No. 26 Toyota)
Row 22 — Timmy Hill (No. 62 Chevrolet)

Follow Auto Racing Daily on Twitter @AutoRacingDaily or like Auto Racing Daily on Facebook ( Amanda’s also on Twitter @NASCARexaminer and has a fan/like page on Facebook: NASCAR Examiner

Share This Post

Posted by on October 2, 2015. Filed under Breaking News,Featured,NASCAR. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply