NASCAR Cup: Dale Earnhardt Jr. goes into Texas Hall of Fame

Dale Earnhardt Jr. (photo courtesy of Getty Images for NASCAR)
Dale Earnhardt Jr. (photo courtesy of Getty Images for NASCAR)


Retiring Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series driver Dale Earnhardt Jr. will be inducted into the Texas Motorsports Hall of Fame during the upcoming Texas Motor Speedway NASCAR weekend that will culminate in the Nov. 5 Cup Series race there. He’ll be the 19th member inducted into the Hall during a ceremony to benefit Speedway Children’s Charities – Texas on Nov. 4 in the Grand Ballroom of the Speedway Club at Texas Motor Speedway near Fort Worth.

Earnhardt scored career-first wins in both the Winston (now-Monster Energy) Cup and NASCAR Busch (now-Xfinity) series at TMS, claiming his first Busch Series win there in 1998 and his first Cup win there in 2000.

“This place definitely has always been one of my preferred stops because of the success we’ve had in the Xfinity and Cup Series in our first races here,” Earnhardt said. “You never forget where you won your first race and neither do your fans. I always look forward to coming here.”

NASCAR’s Kyle Busch and Max Helton and IndyCar’s James Hinchcliffe also will be honored during the charity event.

NASCAR Vice Chairman, Helton, will receive the Bruton Smith Legend Award for his accomplishments relating to NASCAR leadership, including NASCAR’s substantial growth during his tenure as NASCAR President. Helton was promoted from President to Vice Chairman in 2015.

Busch will receive the track’s 2016 Racer of the Year award for his Xfinity and Cup series sweep of TMS last April. Busch has 13 wins at Texas Motor Speedway across NASCAR’s three national series.

Hinchcliffe will receive the Texas Motor Speedway Sportsmanship Award. Hinchcliffe lost the 2016 IndyCar race at TMS by 0.008 seconds to Graham Rahal after Rahal passed him on the last lap. According to a press release from TMS, Hichcliffe handled the loss “with class and dignity following a difficult defeat.”

Follow Auto Racing Daily on Twitter @AutoRacingDaily or like Auto Racing Daily on Facebook ( Amanda’s also on Twitter @NASCARexaminer and has a fan/like page on Facebook (